Archive | 1:18 pm

My Other Half Isn’t….Someone Who Can’t Admit When He’s Wrong

9 Jun

Ahh, the power of a heartfelt apology.

Before I begin to explain the mess I got myself into this weekend I would just like to put out that I am not big on apologies.

As awful as this sounds, I hate admitting I am wrong.  My apologies are usually along the lines of, “I’m sorry you feel that way” or “I’m sorry that you can’t see beyond your point of view.”

Apologies, IF they are meaningful, really aren’t the easiest thing to say.  Admitting you are/were wrong about something makes you completely vulnerable.  From previous posts we have already dissected how difficult it is for me to be vulnerable. 

This is why when other people give me an apology, I take it seriously because I know that it isn’t easy.  A person earns a lot of my respect by admitting they were wrong.

Alright, here is the story;

On Saturday I was invited to a work bbq at my coworker’s home.  The same coworker who I wrote about on a previous post.

At first it was incredibly awkward and I spent the entire first 20 minutes wondering why I even came.  It is a very bad habit of mine to put myself into situations where I KNOW I am going to be uncomfortable.

To make a very long story short, as the evening progressed he pulled me aside and apologized for being such a jerk the past few weeks.  Instead of picking up where we left off (wherever that exactly was, I’ll never know) we agreed to start off with a clean slate. 

Translation; friends so he can prove that he isn’t a jerk and just baby steps to anything more…if it turns into that.

Yes, there were a few kisses goodnight….okay more than a few BUT we both agreed that come Monday it is back to square one.

Which, it was and the Queen of the Nerds is back.  I walked into the elevator door on Monday, managed to jam the copier to a horrific state and spent 15 minutes on how to reply to an email he sent that had two words…

“Hey buddy…”

While my clumsy self has come back in full force, I am happy to say that Fort Knox wall isn’t completely up anymore.  It’s a little lower, with a ladder against it, just in case he wants to take a peek.