“My Other Half Isn’t…At Comic Con”

18 Oct

 

Except if it’s Shane West. Seriously, if it is Shane West I would like to ask, beg, and plead with Fate to get moving on it. I mean…LOOK AT HIM!

 

More on that later though.

Geeks, Nerds, Dorks, People that know the inside of a locker too well, are all things you probably think of when you think of the event goers of Comic Con.

After all, that’s what went through my mind at first. What kind of adult stays at home playing World of War Craft or reading the latest adventure of ‘Superman”?

How ignorant and wrong is that?

I went to Comic Con on Saturday and Sunday and was immediately floored with how many people were dressed up. I don’t mean dressed up in the sense of, “I put together this costume in less than a week”.

These fans must have spent hours on their outfits because I have never seen such a display of admiration before. The amount of passion that was shown by these people is something to be admired.

Most adults in the work force are in a panic if their pants aren’t creased correctly but here you have adults who are brave enough to walk the city streets as a character from Avatar; blue body and all. I even saw one girl who was wearing only body paint and pasties. I wear shorts on the beach and this girl is covered by paint and stickers!

Who is the nerd in that comparison?

Also, the stats these people know are amazing. If you want to know what year the first issue of Spiderman came out; they know it. They know every detail of the Aquaman series. Ask a question about the ring that the Green Lanter wears and SOMEONE if not EVERYONE at the Javits Center would have known.

It was the kind of thing that we all would have known about when we were six years old, sitting in front of the television, eating our rice krispies.

THAT’S the problem. When did we forget how to have fun in the non drinking, imaginative ways? When did it suddenly become the norm to work extra late and come to work extra early instead of doing something out of the ordinary once in a while?

I am not saying that every one has to pick up a Batman costume but, for the sake of your sanity and health, put away your workaholic tendencies.

Now, why didn’t I find my other half at Comic Con? Due to the fact of the other side of the coin…

There was no balance between real life and this event. I guess it would be like a normal, non guitar playing, boy trying to talk to me at a Bon Jovi concert. Every one there was so invested in talking about the AMC premiere of “Walking Dead” that no one really cared about finding someone to have dinner with.

One extreme is no better than the other.

PART TWO

While I did say that this blog was going to open me up to new experiences, I didn’t go to Comic Con JUST to find my other half. No, this falls under the category of a groupie event.

My friend had informed me that the cast of Vampire Diaries was going to be there a few weeks ago so I jumped on getting my ticket. I immediately had visions of Stefan and Damon having their way with me right in the middle of the Javites Center.

Turns out neither were there. Nope…not Stefan, not Damon, NEITHER!

However, Shane West was there promotion his show (yes HIS show, not Maggie Q’s) Nikkita.

Before I continue let me just say that I have had the HUGEST crush on him since his role in “Get Over It”. He played this Australian boy bander named Striker who had a hit song called “Love Scud”.

I even listened to his band’s music. Yes, I supported his whole duel working role.

Well, when I found out that the vampire boys weren’t going to be there but Shane was, my broken heart was fully mended. My fourteen year old self was salivating and my twenty six year old self wanted to know if I could unbutton his jeans with my teeth.

Below are pictures I took from the “Nikkita” panel. Take time to notice each downward glance, small smirk, bedroom eyes, naked pose….wait, sorry, last one was just my imagination on overload.

 

 

 

 

After my lustful time with Mr. West, I went into the Vampire Diaries meet and greet where each cast member WHO WAS THERE was extremely sweet

 

 

Leave a Reply

