My Other Half Isnt….Mr. I Want To Get Married NOW

13 Oct

I wasn’t really sure if men had biological clocks but after last night’s date I’m sure the answer is yes.

Match.com has provided me with a few laughs and countless shirtless pictures of men.  Okcupid gave me a mail box full of boys who call me “Baby, Sweetie, Doll” before even knowing my real name.  In an effort to put myself out there further, I decided to join the website “Plenty of Fish”.

First of all within 20 minutes of posting my profile, the emails just kept coming.  I had guys that were boy band good-looking, guys that had pictures of the bottle of jack attached to their mouths and then I had guys who looked like the drove a mini van around town kidnapping little kids with promises of candy.

Last night’s date was from the new website and even from the get go I felt something was just off.

Within five minutes of getting my number, Mr. Plenty of Fish number one texts me.  Then texts me all day every day for about five days until our date last night. 

Remember how I stressed about “Skylar Time”.  I work from 9-530 trying to not hang myself with the mess I’ve gotten myself into.  The LAST thing I want to do is be bothered all day.  Still, I was nice.  I figured I was just being bitchy and punishing this one guy for the mistakes of others.

I met him at the restaurant and it was really gorgeous.  It was this upscale chinese restaurant; very romantic and probably one of the nicest places I’ve been too.  There wasn’t a pause in conversation at all; which was completely different from any of the dates I had been on.  We even went to get dessert at another restaurant and, in total, the date probably lasted about four hours.

The problem was that the whole time he kept making plans with MY time.  “We could definitely do a cruise together”.  A cruise?  I don’t even know how I felt about dinner and this guy is planning a trip.

“If/when you meet my mom she…”  Whoa..what?  I’m sure she is nice and all but it’s the first date!

“Oh you are free the weekend of the 22nd?  We should hang out then”  Reserving me two weeks in advance is kind of weird. 

Also, the fact that he mentioned how his dad pointed out that if he would get married and have kids his taxes would be lower was kind of a white flag.

Am I over reacting to all of this or would this freak out anyone?

Let’s say none of that had happened, there still weren’t any butterflies.  There was no spark, not overwhelming desire to get a kiss goodnight.  The only desire I had was to hurry up and get home.

Anyway, I think my time with Mr. Plenty of Fish number one is done.  I just don’t have the patience for someone who over joyed to hang out with me when they DON’T KNOW ME!

I finished my post about my Comic Con adventure this past weekend.  I’m just waiting to get my camera back to post all the pictures of the insane event. Also, this weekend is a very exciting one.  Not only do I get to visit Angie, BUT I also have a groupie adventure on Sunday.  Stay tuned….

As for all the dream interpretations, thank you very much guys!  They were all very helpful and extremely insightful.  I think once my vacation happens the odd/work related dreams will stop.

3 Responses to “My Other Half Isnt….Mr. I Want To Get Married NOW”

  1. julia nine October 13, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    love your writing style!! you should totally have a weekly column with The NY Times!!!

  2. 757rubicon October 14, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Liked your blog. I’ve been with my wife for about 12 years. I’m not sure I would know where to start if I was in the dating scene again. I’m sure it would be difficult to find someone that I connected with. In some respects it would be exciting to meet new people, but I’m sure there would be a lot of short dates also.

  3. David Miller October 15, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    You know I really feel kind of sorry for that guy, sure he was a bit too fast for his own good but it does seem that he had been lonely for quite some time, his approach was really bad, The remarks on the taxes reduction sure would raise a flag, dunno what in the world would have prompted him to say that of all the things. There are plenty of great guys out there, you will eventually get one =)

Leave a Reply

