My Other Half Isnt…My Date From Last Night (At Least For Now)

25 Aug

I am really beginning to HATE dating.  I am not sure who said that being a single gal in the city was all fun and cosmos but they lied.

With every date I go on my hope that there are gentleman out there diminishes to almost nonexistent proportions.  The dream of finding “the guy” is seemingly not worth it.  At the end of each date I go home and have a good laugh while thinking to myself that maybe my office romance was the best that I was going to get.

That’s how much I HATE dating.

Now, to be fair Mr OkCupid number one wasn’t bad.  He was charming and funny; with a cute irish accent.  If James Van Derbeek and Robert Pattinson had a baby, this guy would be their love child.  He even opened doors for me.

Onto why I’m pretty sure I wont hear from him again or he wont hear from me.

We met up at 730 and by 841 he says that he has to get going.  That’s fine.  I kind of wanted it to be an early night anyway but it just seemed very abrupt.

He never asked if I wanted anything else.  I had one beer and by the time I got home I was in dire need of anything cooked.

Mr. Okcupid number one apparently learned dating skills from Match.com guy number one because neither one of them walked me to the train station.

Maybe it’s me.  I could just be completely old-fashioned and want things in a specific way that doesn’t exist anymore.  Then again even my guy friend texted me back with the words “you are worth a dinner.”

It just seems that the closer my deadline gets, the more disgusted I get with the male population.  Where are the guys that all the love songs are about?  Where the hell is the guy that movies are based on??  Seriously, I’d like to know where the guys like Gerry (P.S. I love you), Jude (Across the Universe), Jack (Titanic), Landon (A Walk to Remember) and Noah (The Notebook) are!

Before the “those guys are fictional” comments begin let me just clarify.  I don’t want a star named after me.  I just want my chair pulled out.  I don’t want someone to read to me every night.  I just want someone to help me with my jacket.

Reasonable requests I think.

I think I may just take a break from the online dating thing for a week or two.  I still haven’t heard from Joey since our date last week so I’m thinking that’s a bust. 

Onto better news.

My photo shoot is scheduled for Friday so I’ll be sure to post those pictures as soon as they are taken.  Also, look for my Facebook link for videos, pictures and some fun tidbits that my mishaps provide me with.

Tomorrow I’m hanging out with my friend for a groupie adventure. (THANK GOD!)

Saturday is my Aerosmith show which is another reason to get on my knees and thank whoever is in charge up there.  After consistently going after Prince “I’m not 100% charming but I can get you to smile every once in a blue moon” I would just like to lust after Joe Perry for an hour and a half. 

What do you guys think?  Am I aiming my sights to high with unrealistic ideas of what relationships are supposed to be? For all you taken people, where did you meet your significant other?  Am I the only single gal who goes through all this crap?

Till next time,

Skylar Hope

7 Responses to “My Other Half Isnt…My Date From Last Night (At Least For Now)”

  1. Chris Nash August 25, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Are you setting your sights too high? Absolutely not; quite the opposite, you owe it to yourself to find someone who is everything you could ever hope for. Don’t settle for anything less. There’s nothing unreasonable with wanting to find someone who will respect you in the ways you *need*, and, while a couple of dates might leave you disillusioned, that doesn’t mean *all* us guys are like that…

    Continuing good luck! Just… hang in there, it’s worth it, and you’ll likely find it where and when you’re least expecting.

  2. stusview August 26, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I really enjoyed your piece. If it’s any consolation I went through many of the same feelings and thoughts (from the male perspective) when I was single.
    I found that girls had very bizarre expectations of prospective men… so, as long as yours are close to reality it will all work out.
    As long as you don’t want: A guy with money who isn’t materialistic, a guy who is blokey (yet sensitive), built like Adonis but with no ego, who cooks, cries and writes poetry yet can keep you safe with his incredible MMA skills… then you’ll be fine.
    I found many modern girls had an attitude of ‘what can you do for me’? kinda like, I’m not meeting you in the middle at all – I am ‘all that’ and you better tick all the boxes before I will even talk to you… maybe that’s just Aussie girls?? Anyhow, good luck!

  3. myheartbookclub August 28, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    I just came across your blog and I love it! Very insightful and interesting.
    Hope “Mr. Right” comes along.

  4. Nic August 28, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    No your not setting your expectations to high, you just want to be happy. That is an understandable request 🙂

  5. misstaing September 1, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    I don’t think you’re setting your sights too high at all. I think it good to know what you want or don’t want in a relationship (Noah from the Notebook!). I’m sure “Mr. Right” will come along 🙂

    People say that love comes along when you least expect it…”liars!” I used to say. I had looked for Mr. Right until I thought nice guys don’t exist anymore and then BAM! He walked into my workplace, we ended up at the same college and 2 years later we are still together.

    Nice blog by the way, very nice!

  6. Bricona September 8, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    You’re blog is hilariummm. Hey I’m Jon, I came from umm “Techland?” I think that’s the name. I have friend who blogs about internet dating too, her sites http://datemedc.blogspot.com/

    You should check her out, she’s loved by millions, and she’s actually the person who got me to start blogging.

    Love the site, hope to see more internet man shopping stories 🙂

    • Skylar Hope September 9, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, they’ll be plenty more embarassing stories coming my blogs way soon!

      I’ll def check out your friend’s site. How did she get so many readers?

Leave a Reply

