My Other Half Isnt…In Any Moments In My 25th year

12 Aug

borrowed from the boston herald.

Well, today is the big day; my 26th birthday. 

I wish I could write a whole drawn out post on how I met the love of my life last night and I’m starting off-year 26 completely head over heels.  I also wish I could say that the friendships that have turned into all out wars have raised white flags and things will return to normal. 

No, today marks the start of a new beginning and chapter of the ever dramatic world of Skylar Hope.  But, before I close my eyes and make that birthday wish, here are a few things that have happened over the past year that (good or bad) I wouldn’t trade in for anything in the world.  Drama adds character to your personality and adventures, misadventures, problems and love make us who we are.

1. My drunken meet and greet with the Backstreet Boys.  This happened four days into my 25th year and all I remember is my friend sneaking us into their meet and greet and getting a picture with the band.  I didn’t get arrested so I’m assuming all went well.  It would be the first of many misadventures

2. My new job.  After coming from a company who thought a pen was a Christmas bonus, getting money thrown at me for the bosses coffee and getting lectured on the waste of paper, I was thrilled to get a new job where I loved my bosses and my coworkers. 

3. Getting along with my mom.  My mother and I have always had a strained relationship.  She will say that it got better when I moved out.  I will say that it got better once I let go of the past and realized that carrying it around with me was toxic; not just to our relationship but to  my own mind. 

4. The Big Vegas Trip of 09.  I saw Justin Timberlake golf for four straight days and you know what?  I can honestly say I still hate golf.  But, sneaking into VIP, getting into clubs for free, drinking jack with my breakfast cereal…those are times I wont forget.  Even though I’m not friends with one of the people I went on that trip with anymore, I will always look on HALF that trip with delight.

5. Meeting Jon Bon Jovi:  I will spare you the five pages worth of details I can give you from a five second encounter but out of all the rock stars I’ve met, he had to be the sweetest one.  I think I feel in love that night…

6. My Radio City NKOTB adventures:  Any chance to hang out with my sisters from out-of-state and out of the country is a blessing.  I love all my groupie sisters and whenever the words ‘Tails and Eyeliner” are said, we each giggle no matter where we are.

7. Office Romances: Oh this ended in an awkward way and I don’t think ive ever been so aggravated by a male in my adult life.  However, I’m pretty sure the ice queen is melted away and I had many “Walk to Remember” like evenings, so I really can’t complain.

8.  The awkwardness of a Celtic Game:  My 15-year-old self was dying while my 25-year-old self was yelling “Are you KIDDING ME!”  Either way, that night marked the end of a teenage dream and the last misadventure with one of my sisters.

9.The Virginia trip:  Want to know how to separate your real friends from your “other” friends?  Take a trip with them and have it be completely awful!  Whoever you are still speaking to at the end…those are your sisters.

I’m sure there are many others that I could list but honestly, im just SO happy that this year is finally over.  I really can’t wait to see what my 26th year has in store for me.  I’m sure it’ll be filled with lots of excitement, lots of tear…and for goodness sakes lets hope for true love!!!

One Response to “My Other Half Isnt…In Any Moments In My 25th year”

  1. ialeks August 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    happy late birthday
    and it looks like your year was very productive! what makes us is the bad and the good. the awful moments and those that make us cry out of happiness and than comes a time for new beginnings, such as a new year in your life.
    hope this one i filled with great things, good decisions and memorable moments

Leave a Reply

