My Other Half Isn’t…Going To Be Stuck At Home This Summer

25 Jun

Its that time again folks.....courtesy of google image search.

The past week has been nothing but, and pardon my language, a cluster fuck.  It is like the majority of people I knew got together and decided to see how far they could push me before I snapped. 

The “Virginia” situation came up again this week and started and all out battle.  (Mind you it’s been a month already) 

My seemingly “normal” status with my coworker has again become awkward after yesterday so that just added to my misery.

I turned down a groupie adventure on the high seas do to a cash flow problem.

Yes, ladies and gents, a definite cluster fuck.

Anyway, last night I began thinking of my little experiment and how my life just seems to be drifting from what it used to be.  Even though I have yet to find this “other half” at concerts, at work, at happy hours,etc  I keep going to the same places and going after the same people.  It’s like beating a dead horse.  What I need is to remove myself from the drama that people have brought to my life and get some new experiences. 

I need to go to new places and meet new people.  The summer has always been my favorite season and it never fails to add some magic into my life. 

With that said, I have composed a list of things to do for the summer.  Hopefully, I’ll gain new friends, have some new NON MUSICIAN adventures and find that other half.

Summer Plans 2010

1. Get my license:  I took drivers ed in high school and never took the road test.  Last summer I finally got my permit again after letting expire and STILL have not taken a lesson.  It’s time to bite the bullet and finish something I started ten years ago.

2.Get my passport: I really want to go to England, Scotland, Ireland, Rome and Australia.  You know what would be SUPER helpful in this?  Getting MY PASSPORT!  I’ve always wanted to have an overseas run away romance with a Gerard Butler type.   My goal is to save the money I would spend on shows and go to one of the above places mid next year.

3. Take guitar lessons:  Before my Grandpa passed away he had told my brother and I that he wanted us to learn how to play at least ONE instrument.  According to him, and he was a very brilliant man, music would open doors to countless friendships.  I think I’ve exhausted the fan road and would like to fulfill that hope he had for me.  After all he did leave me his guitar when he passed on.

4. Go to New Orleans:  I dread my birthday every year.  EVERY year my birthday is ruined my supposed friends, drama and random family issues.  This year I’ve decided that I am leaving everyone behind and going to New Orleans to celebrate my 26th year.  I am absolutely fascinated with ghosts and fortune tellers and I think that going to a place where that is a large part of the culture will do me some good. 

5:Take a dance class:  Once upon a time I actually took three years of tap and fell in love with it.  Any stress I had would be completely forgotten on stage.  I think that maybe learning something new will help me make new friends and give my personality a breath of fresh air.

6: Have a magical all nighter in Manhattan: This one is for when I do find that guy.  If i could spend all night walking around the city with him just talking, I’ll know that it must be serious. 

7: Skylar, meet the boys of eharmoney/match.com:  Yes, it’s that time.  In August I ill officially have ONLY a year to find my other half and since he isn’t anywhere I’ve searched, its time to search a larger area.

8:  Get this blog on Facebook:  The more readers I get out there, the more entertaining I can do and the more of a shot I have at finding this allusive soul mate of mine. 

Any other suggestions folks?  I’ve been reading through all your comments and I appreciate every one!  I am always surprised to get any sort of comment on here.

With that, I’m sure in getting to know me through these posts you guys may have suggestions at what I can do to make this journey a bit more positive. 

Till next time, Happy Friday everyone!

11 Responses to “My Other Half Isn’t…Going To Be Stuck At Home This Summer”

  1. Thomas June 25, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    Wow, your blog is very personal, but hilarious. Why did you put a time to meet your soul mate? I have not figured that part out quite yet. I was on the same journey that you were on 3 years ago. The search was relentless, but I finally found my soul mate. It is funny, because it seems that I had visions of her when I was younger. Learn a new language to broaden your search. Maybe Portuguese. I also want to learn guitar, piano, or drums. Good luck!

    • Skylar Hope June 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      thanks for the suggestion! I didnt even think of learning a new language as a way to meet people. I gave myself a time limit because I want to be married before im 30 and I definitely want to be a mom before that. So i figured that if i met my other half by 27, that would give me some time.

      • Thomas June 25, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

        I still can barley speak Portuguese, but thank goodness for me Priscila (my better half) learned English. God puts us with who we need to be with. I bet you could even meet someone in your language classes (I don’t know if he will be a cool musician). Either way, this is a very unique blog. I read your first post, and remember thinking the same. That if I am not married by 25 then it won’t happen. I am sitting here at 26 now, and we get married in October. Is there another movie that is similar to Almost Famous? That movie is awesome.

      • Skylar Hope June 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

        Congratulations on the wedding!!

        There aren’t many movies like Almost Famous. The only one i know of is the Banger Sisters with Goldie Hawn and Susan Surrandon. If you like the story though there is this wonderful book called ‘Im with the band” by Pamela DesBarres that is an absolute must read.

  2. Thomas June 25, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Thank you,I am going to get it when we get back to the US. I just read some reviews, and it seems like a great read. I wish I was born in the 70s. That was a great time for music. Everything now just seems watered down and unoriginal. Oh yea, be prepared to sacrifice when you meet your soul mate. I picked up and left Louisiana for over a year, so we could be together (worth every second).

  3. somethingsthat June 26, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    I love that you want to get out there and live your life and have adventures but the whole search for a soulmate thing might just ruin all the rest of it for you.
    If you meet someone, then great – but if you don’t, that should be great too.
    Us women have all been sold on the ‘Prince Charming/happy ever after’ scenario but that isn’t real life. There’s an awful lot of very unhappy ‘married with kids’ people out there.
    Do it all just for the sake of enjoying yourself. Que sera sera… and all that.

  4. breanacarrier June 26, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Find yourself before you find your other half. Ultimately, in the end, that will be all that matters. If you spend your time searching for mr. right. you may lose yourself along the way or mold to fit “Mr. Right’s” expectations. This is coming from someone with extensive knowledge on the subject. Don’t worry about looking for your “Other Half.” He will find you. (besides this blog may scare him away, but by all means it is hilarious. Continue to write. 🙂 )

  5. Eric Does Not Exist June 27, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    England is very good for gerard butler types. BTW, awesome-scary blog (by that i mean that it’s scarily awesome, as well as being awesomely scary (in a good way!)) and yay for semi-non-fictional boys who may or may not– but hopefully may exist!

  6. TheIntentionalSage June 28, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Can you please delete my previous comment… I accidentally signed off with a name as opposed to my moniker…

    The Intentional Sage

  7. cristinmcgrath June 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Oh my goodness…this is going to sound looney, I’m sure, but I actually made an online dating site. (SUPER NERD). But you know what…it has been working wonders and I have four prospects that are dolls. We’ve gone out on dates, they are gentlemen and I couldn’t be happier with my experiences.

    I always thought it was so weird and awkward, but it really isn’t all that more awkward than meeting someone at a bar.

    Just food for thought 🙂

    -Cristin

    • Thomas June 29, 2010 at 12:32 am #

      Hey send me a link to that website. I have a woman already, but I want to see how you did it. I am a fellow nerd as well. Template or coding?

Leave a Reply

