My Other Half ISN’T At “El Rio Grand”

21 May

Oh dear God, no!  NO! Not if I were the last woman on earth.

Wait!  That’s too cliché and doesn’t even describe the horrific male sights that are there.

If I were a lesbian all my life and were overly desperate to find a guy to “do me”. I still wouldn’t go to this place to find a male.

First, the positive things about this tex mex restaurant.  The food is AMAZING!  My friend and I shared a plate of nachos with refried beans and cheese quesadilla that would blow your mind.  I starved myself for the whole day to be sure I could indulge without guilt and it was completely worth it.
If you want to get tipsy quick, have the margarita.  The first one had my crappy day looking like a walk down the yellow brick road.  The second had me so relaxed i was ready for bed by seven.  The drinks were fantastic and I would highly recommend it for great food and better drinks.

As for attempt one of my experiment; I should have gone straight home after work.

Yes, I want to find my other half but I’m 99% sure my other half is NOT a 40 year old office slave who thinks it is cool to pick up 20 year olds at happy hour.  I have never been so depressed at a happy hour before!  The most promising guy there looked to be about 35 and donned  a trucker hat.

Note: The ONLY guy allowed to wear a trucker hat passed 2003 is Ashton Kutcher.  One, because he started the trend.  Two, he’s Ashton Kutcher.

It is important that the guy be established in his life and be comfortable in his own skin.  A mature guy would be!

With that said, I do not want someone who can give my Dad a run for his money in the “mature race”.

A guy in a suit is fine as long as he can have fun.  Even if you are a 27 year old office manager, don’t be a wall flower.  It makes you old before you’re time.

If day one is any indication of the boys (yes, BOYS not MEN) I am going to have to endure on this journey to find true love, I may as well put my local convent on speed dial.

3 Responses to “My Other Half ISN’T At “El Rio Grand””

  1. timethief May 21, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I do not believe there is one and only one romantic, sweep you off your feet soul-mate out there for each of us. I believe holding onto that “one and only one soul-mate” belief means that we overlook the other possible partners we could form mutually supportive, and loving long term relationships with. Worse still it means we are brainwashed into believing that we are incomplete and need to have another complete us. That’s utter crap!

    * Ideas, theories and beliefs are not necessarily truths.
    * A belief is not an idea held by the mind; it is an idea that holds the mind.
    * We don’t see things as they are; we see things as we are.

    Statistics reveal most of those who did experience marriages to romantic, sweep you off your feet partners “soul-mates” that they thought would “complete” them ended up in 6/10 cases breaking up and moving into another relationship, and another and another ( serial monogamy). The reason why is clear they seek and experience infatuation. They were not in love; they were in lust.

    Unfortunately, most also choose to have children to “complete” them before their relationship had been tested, and had proved to be likely to remain sustainable over the long term.

    I urge you to ditch this one and only one soulmate thinking and get on with being the best YOU that you can be. When you master that you will attract friends and among them you may find a mate who is willing to make a lifetime commitment.

    P.S. I have been married for over 30 years to the same partner. I know how to pick em? Do you?

  2. lookitsbray May 22, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Good luck on your journey.

  3. Danniel August 18, 2010 at 3:28 am #

    I absolutely love the juxtaposition of timetheif’s comment with lookitsbray’s.

    P.S. it took me about 14 tries to correctly spell juxtaposition and then google it’s meaning to make sure I was using it right.

Leave a Reply

